RSS

White Bread

12 Jan

So I’ve begun this little love affair with baking bread. There is something so satisfying in watching a loaf of bread rise! I have to admit, out of all of the things to make in the world of cooking, I find bread to be the most challenging! I know! But, as a dear friend told me, she thought it was hilarious that I found cheesecake easy, I guess that we each have our own strengths. I do hope to master the art someday, but in the mean time, I think I’ll dance happily in front of my covered little bowl as the bread rises and I’ll hope it turns out just right!

There is something just so amazing about fresh homed bread. PLEASE NO BREAD MACHINES! ACK! No, I’m talking about fresh, mixed and stirred by hand, kneaded into submission sort of bread! The kind that looks beautiful and all the sides feel so delectable in your mouth– that’s the kind of bread I’m talking about. 

 

A shout-out to bread machines– yes, they are handy, and I’m not against using them. Pizza doughs and other doughs for forming breads are much more accessible this way, but if you must use them to make your bread, at least take the dough out and let it bake in the oven!

 

  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tbs. vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 cups all purpose flour, approx.

In a large bowl, dissolve 1 package of active dry yeast in warm water. Stir until dissolved. Add salt, sugar, shortening, and milk to mixture. Mix in 2 cups of flour, checking for dryness or wetness and adding flour accordingly. If the dough seems sticky, continue to add flour, if the dough feels smooth to the touch, you do not need to add more. On a floured surface, start to knead the dough, adding more flour if needed. Knead for 5-10 minutes. Grease bowl and place dough inside, being sure to flip it once to grease all sides of the dough. Let rise in a warm place for one hour.

 

After one hour, return to dough and punch down and knead quickly. Place bread in buttered or greased bread pan, set in a warm place to rise for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Bake bread for 45 minutes or until golden brown. Release bread from pan, and let cool on rack.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Bread, White

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “White Bread

  1. Just A Smidgen

    January 12, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Very pretty photos of your loaf.. perfectly risen and dusted with flour, and all made with loving hands:)

     
  2. sourdoughtheangrybaker

    January 13, 2012 at 4:48 am

    When I really started to get serious about baking bread, I used my bread machine just for mixing until I got my KitchenAid. You did bring back a fun memory with that comment, keep baking and nice blog!

     
  3. S.C. Dennis

    January 13, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    I made bread just before I read this post! So satisfying. I used water and oil, rather than shortening and milk, so I’ll have to give your version a go some time. Lovely pictures, by the way. That’s something I really need to get started with. Anyway, please feel free to have a look at my thoughts on bread-baking from this morning

    http://chicorycook.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/bread-and-i/

     
  4. Magdalena

    January 15, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Made it today… came out really good!

     
    • Melodie

      January 15, 2012 at 3:16 am

      so glad! Tom loved mine and couldn’t get enough! 🙂

       
  5. -J

    January 30, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I just stole this recipe, but made a few small tweaks—I used sugar in the raw instead of regular table sugar; olive oil instead of shortening and whole wheat flour instead of white flour. It should be done baking in about 25 mins. I’ll let you know how it turns out! Thanks for the recipe!!

     
  6. -J

    January 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    It was good. A little dense (probably from the different type of flour and sugar), so I’ll let it rise a little more next time. But really, really delicious. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
