RSS

Cinnamon Rolls

08 Jan

When I was growing up, I remember with great fondness how my mom used to make us cinnamon rolls every Sunday morning. To be honest, I can’t remember if she made them the night before or the morning of, but regardless, I still remember looking forward to them every week! I do have to hand it to my mom and my Italian heritage for my love of food. Cooking at a young age and being surrounded by good food has always fed my desire to bake and cook! 

Dough:

  • 1/4 oz. package yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup scalded milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 3 1/2 cups to 4 cups all purpose flour

In a bowl, dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water. Let sit for 5-10 minutes or until the yeast bubbles. In a large bowl, mix milk, sugar, melted butter, salt, egg, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add yeast mixture. Mix in 2 cups of flour, incorporate until smooth. Add remaining flour. Knead dough for 5-10 minutes on floured surface. Transfer to well greased bowl, and place in warm oven*. Let rise for 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours, or until dough doubles in size.

* Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, or lowest temperature on oven, once oven feels comfortably warm, turn off temperature, and place dough inside. If for some reason during the rising process the oven cools off too much, repeat the first step.

 

 

 

Filling:

  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • dash of cloves
  • 3/4 cup raisins or dried apricots, optional

When dough has doubled in size, punch down and roll out on a flat surface, about a 15×9 rectangle . Spread softened butter over dough, and sprinkle on filling. Press into dough. On the longest end of your rectangle, begin to roll up dough and pinch ends to seal. Cut into 12 to 15 slices.

With remaining butter, spread onto pan. Place cinnamon rolls close in pan, but not touching, leaving room for them to grow. Place back into a warm oven, and let double in size, about 45 minutes. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, and cook for 30 to 40 minutes, or until just slightly browned on top.

 

 

 

Glaze:

  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 2 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

In small bowl, combine the butter and cream cheese. Using an electric mixer, beat until smooth. Add powdered sugar and beat in slowly at first, and then on high. Slowly add in vanilla extract until creamy. Frost hot cinnamon rolls, enjoy!

 

 
30 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2012 in Bread, Cinnamon Rolls, Dessert, Sweet Bread

 

Tags: , , , ,

30 responses to “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Young Wifey

    January 8, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    These look perfect! Great job!

     
  2. Lady J

    January 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    Wow.. these look so good… I wanna grab one of these and sink my teeth into it! Hungry!!!

     
  3. princeproductions

    January 8, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    absolutely gorgeous! I love cinnamon rolls

     
  4. ringfingertanline

    January 8, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    ohmygosh, i wish i had those in my belly right now. what a perfect sunday morning delight!

     
  5. Michelle

    January 8, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Can I come over to breakfast? Those look so good!

     
  6. Baker Bettie

    January 8, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Yum! These look so good. That is what we had for breakfast today too. Nothing beats a warm, homemade cinnamon roll.

     
  7. Jenny

    January 8, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    These look amazing! I’m sooo making them!

     
  8. chefbill

    January 8, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    OMG these look like heaven in a baking dish… fantastic!

     
  9. homespicelife

    January 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    Those look amazing!! Nicely done. I am putting them on my to-bake list for after my low-carb diet ends!

     
  10. spring

    January 9, 2012 at 1:17 am

    wow look at all these comments =)
    great job with the rolls! And the pics, they look great. I kind of chuckled to myself when I saw how many pics there were.

     
    • Melodie

      January 13, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      hehe, yes its fun to put lots of photos up 😀

       
  11. The Mouse

    January 9, 2012 at 1:40 am

    I almost need a cigarette after reading your post and looking at the pictures. Thank you! 🙂

     
  12. the Jilb

    January 9, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Yum!!

     
  13. cupcakesandkirs

    January 9, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    These look fantastic; I’ll have to make them this weekend. 🙂

     
  14. S.C. Dennis

    January 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Great pictures, Melodie!

     
  15. VogueVegetarian

    January 10, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Your photos and recipes look no less than amazing! I’ll look forward to more!

     
  16. nicranium

    January 10, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Omigoodness, I’ve been trying to avoid flour, but if I have a cheat day in the near future I am heading straight to your blog!

     
  17. Cristin

    January 11, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Oh, to be awakened by the smell of cinnamon wafting through the house! I wish it could be my alarm clock. How lovely that your mom made these every Sunday.

     
  18. Theadora Brack

    January 11, 2012 at 2:35 am

    Another FAB post! I love your story telling and photograph. Enjoy the week, Theadora

     
  19. jo rivera dongon

    January 11, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    I love cinnamon rolls! The photos make me drool 🙂
    Keep on posting…

     
  20. ooothatsshiny

    January 13, 2012 at 2:53 am

    holy cow, i am jealous of your cooking skills lol i am definitely going to try and do some of these at home, although my results will probably be not as pretty 🙂

     
    • Melodie

      January 13, 2012 at 3:15 am

      haha 🙂 you’re very sweet! I hardly know what I’m doing. Experience is the best teacher, so just try it, if you have any questions, I’d love to help if I can! 🙂

       
  21. enoughroom

    January 13, 2012 at 5:18 am

    Yum! But I think my butt grew looking at the pictures. 😉

     
    • darla

      January 14, 2012 at 4:32 am

      me too! but i better make ’em just to be sure!

       
  22. simplykristiblog

    January 13, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    These look SO good. For some reason cinnamon rolls have always kind of intimidated me, because I can never get them to taste right. Might have to give this recipe a try!

     
  23. chasingtimemedia

    January 14, 2012 at 3:20 am

    Yum!! These look awesome. Nice blog 🙂

     
  24. Murdercakes

    January 14, 2012 at 4:24 am

    These look so delicious! Sadly, my boyfriend is deathly allergic to cinnamon, so I feel guilty if I eat it in front of him.

    BTW – thanks for stopping by to like my blog – nice to meet you!

     
  25. darla

    January 14, 2012 at 4:32 am

    these totally seem do-able. i cant wait to try them!

     
  26. Emmy

    January 16, 2012 at 3:26 am

    Your photographs are stunning, and these looks amazingly delicious. I’ll definitely be checking your blog out on a regular basis from now on. Thank you so much for following our blog, we appreciate it so much! 🙂 Keep up the great work!

     
  27. gwylangoddard

    January 18, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Wow, those look so delicious! Thanks for your “likes” on my posts as well Melodie! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
