RSS

Venison Pot Roast with Butternut Squash

10 Dec

Ever since I tried butternut squash, I am slightly obsessed with it. I can’t seem to try it in enough ways or seem to get quite enough to satisfy my appetite for it! Probably my new most favorite vegetable, I am constantly looking for new recipes to incorporate it into.

This recipe happened a bit on accident, which sometimes in the cooking world, can be your greatest success. Genius seems to strike at the oddest times, with the most unpredictable of circumstances, and with the most unsuspecting items.

The gamey flavor of venison suits nicely with the extra celery and the unique flavor of butternut squash. I could see this recipe also doing nicely with the addition of parsnips, but I did not have them at the time.

  • 2 lbs venison pot roast
  • 6 carrots, cut into 3rds or 4ths
  • 2 cups sliced celery, including leaves
  • 1 large butternut squash, cut into chunks
  • 4 onions, quartered
  • 1 cup flour
  • Italian seasoning
  • Garlic salt
  • Onion salt
  • Black pepper
  • Steak Seasoning

Coat roast with steak seasoning, and sear in a frying pan, making sure every part of the roast is seared. Toss chopped vegetables in bowl with the cup of flour, garlic salt, onion salt, and Italian seasoning. Place the roast, and vegetables in a Crockpot slow-cooker. Cook on high for 4-6 hours or on low for 6-8 hours.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2011 in Butternut Squash, Meat, Onions, Vegetable, Venison

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Venison Pot Roast with Butternut Squash

  1. cocomino

    December 10, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    SO yummy. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

     
  2. MothersHeart

    December 14, 2011 at 4:33 am

    Looks delicious!

     
  3. Pasta Princess

    December 14, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Hi! 🙂 I wanted to thank you for visiting my blog and the “like” and for “following”! You made my day! I too am obssesed with butternut squash this year! Isn’t it the best?! Try it in pasta too – it’s great! I’ve enjoyed looking at and reading your blog! Happy Holidays!

     
    • Melodie

      December 16, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      Thank you so much! I have enjoyed your blog as well! 🙂 Keep up the amazing work!

       
  4. mitzi's foodoo

    December 15, 2011 at 8:03 am

    oh, looks very delicious! we have some common obsession, right? 🙂

     
  5. Jody and Ken

    December 23, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    A VENISON pot roast! Lucky you! Looks great with all the vegetables. Ken

     
    • Melodie

      December 23, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      haha, yes, i am lucky, my husband hunts!

       
  6. fukuii

    December 24, 2011 at 12:01 am

    That looks wonderful. Drat, now I am hungry.

     
  7. PINK SISTER

    January 4, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Venison is great this time of year especially. We grew some squashes again this year – our saved seeds produced some unusual looking results which tastes really good. We’ve been eating every permutation of squash – roasted, soup, mashed – my favourite is curry. We put squash and beetroot and peas and other veg into a standard curry recipe in place of chicken etc and, I promise you, do not notice there’s no meat in it at all. Thanks for checking out Pink Sister. Happy New Year. I’ll be trying out your recipes here in London. xxx Catherine (Pink Sister)

     

Leave a Reply

 
