RSS

Frosted Sugar Cookies

05 Dec

Being a music teacher, I have many opportunities and liberties to do fun things with my students. Each semester I help my students prepare for a recital, Christmas and “Spring”. My first year as a music teacher, my students seemed to lack the drive to practice their songs. Slightly stumped, I decided to do a slightly different incentive and announced a “cookie week”. I set up a system of “points” where the children might earn cookies as rewards. I wasn’t entirely sure what to make, but I figured my best bet would be to make the two most popular cookies: chocolate chip and sugar. My chocolate chips had always been a wild success, but I had never yet made a sugar cookie. I called up my mom and asked for a recipe which she had previously used as a “cutout” cookie recipe. I was definitly not going to be cutting out cookies for over 50 students, especially when you could earn up to 5 cookies for each student!

I don’t remember all of the details of how this recipe transformed into what it is today, but I think some of it was experimentation, and some of it was accident. Either way, these cookies are OUT OF THIS WORLD. After I made them that very first year, I have had students and teachers alike requesting I make them again. The cookies became a bit of a legend around the school and each year when I would announce it being time for “cookie week” I would see the excitement in my students eyes, and magically all the work I wanted them to do would miraculously happen!

Last year, because of wedding preparations and whatnot, I never got around to making the cookies. This year when I announced to one of my students about the upcoming “cookie week”, he replied with big eyes “I’ve only HEARD about these cookies!”.

While I was preparing to make these cookies, my husband Tom told me I should call them the “try them if you dare” cookies. I laughed and asked him why, “well,” he said,” Because you can’t just eat one, you have to eat at least 5 or 6 and then you just have to keep coming back for more; they’re SO good!”

By far, my most popular cookies, these finiky little jewels are worth the trouble. Beware, the batter is incredibly addictive, but far more addictive is the end result! Do not make if you are trying to stay on your diet! 😉

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla
  • 3 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 4 cups flour

Preheat the oven to 357 degrees F. In a stand up mixer, beat together the white and brown sugar with the shortening. Add the salt. Beat in each egg. Add the vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the baking soda and buttermilk, set aside and let them react. The mixture should about double in size. Add the buttermilk mixture to the original batter and stir only just enough that the ingredients are combined. Add flour, if the batter looks too wet, add 1/4 c more. Cook for 8 minutes, or until there is a light tan color on just the tips. DO NOT OVERCOOK! Set to cool, and frost with your favorite frosting and sprinkles! 🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2011 in Cookie, Dessert

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Frosted Sugar Cookies

  1. live news online

    December 6, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Thanks for that. Great information.

     
  2. susannye

    December 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Melodie – Old fashioned sugar cookies are so dull – I’m always on the looking for more interesting versions! Thanks – Susan

     
  3. Pierotucci

    December 14, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Sugar cookies are the next on my list – and since I have never found a recipe that knocks my socks off yours is going to be on the “to do list”. I let you know….

    http://www.pierotucci.com/accessories/gift_ideas/

     
  4. Sugar -N- Spice Makes Everything Nice

    December 15, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    These look DELICIOUS!

     
  5. Gina

    December 15, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    These look great! I don’t have the time or patience for roll-out sugar cookies, but if I am ever so inclined…do you know if these work as roll-outs too?

     
    • Melodie

      December 16, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      I think this could definitly work for roll outs… I’ll have to ask my mom who has the ACTUAL recipe tht was ORIGINALLY a roll out… i don’t generally have a LOT of patience for roll out cookies either… so these are drop and i just frost them 🙂

       
  6. Rachael Symons

    December 28, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    What a fantastic blog – loads of inspiration here, thank you!

     
  7. Jude

    December 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Hi Melodie
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I just love the look of these cookies! And the pictures are really great. You almost feel you can swipe some of the cream off with your finger. Just yummy!

     
  8. the Jilb

    December 28, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
