RSS

Peanut Brittle

29 Oct

About a week or so ago, I tried to make a nut brittle. Being new to having my own household, sometimes I realize in the middle of things that I’m missing an item and have to figure out where I put it. On the rare occasion, I realize I actually don’t *have* that item. Such was the case last week, when I tried to make this nut brittle and realized that I did not have a candy thermometer. I had a meat thermometer, and did my best to improvise, but the two aren’t entirely the same :P. While I could tell the flavors were there and the recipe *WOULD* have come out rather nicely- my lack of a thermometer made me overcook the sugar and gave it a bitter taste.

So I promptly picked up a candy thermometer while I was at the store on my latest visit. All excited about the prospect of making some kind of candy of sorts. I still had a whole container of salted peanuts, so I decided to start simply, and do peanut brittle. This one was incredibly easy, and turned out quite beautiful!

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup light- color corn syrup
  • 2½ cups salted peanuts
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

Butter a large baking sheet; set aside. In a microwave- safe glass bowl, combine sugar and corn syrup. Microwave on 100 percent power for 5 to 7 minutes or until sugar dissolves and mixture is bubbly over entire surface, stirring twice.

Stir in peanuts. Microwave, uncovered, on 100 percent power for 4 minutes. Stir in the 2 tablespoons butter and the vanilla. Cook, uncovered, on 100 percent power for 3 to 4 minutes, or until the candy reaches hard- crack stage (302° F). and syrup is a clear golden color. After 2 minutes of cooking, stir peanut mixture every 30 seconds.

Stir in baking soda. Immediately pour mixture onto the prepared baking sheet, spreading the mixture as thin as possible. Cool brittle completely. Break it into irregular pieces. Place brittle in a plastic bag; seal.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2011 in Dessert, Nut, Peanut

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Peanut Brittle

  1. waterlooheather

    December 9, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Looks good to me! Did you see my pathetic attempt at macadamia nut brittle? http://tolondonwithlove.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/good-hostess-bad-blogger/

    I don’t have a candy thermometer either. Maybe that’s what I’m missing. That and brittle skills.

     
    • Melodie

      December 16, 2011 at 12:59 pm

      haha! Well i will have to take a look when I get a chance! This was about the EASIEST recipe in the world. I’m not sure if the last creation i did was just a bad recipe? I don’t know much about candy making, but I have to wonder if it is under or over the temperature, if the brittel doesn’t set right? that’s what I”m guessing. The candy thermometer takes out the guess work!

       
  2. mondomulia

    December 9, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Oh this looks good!! 🙂

     
  3. 2eat2drink

    December 9, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog Melodie! I think I may have to try out this recipe…sounds good!

     
  4. Sugar -N- Spice Makes Everything Nice

    December 15, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I have never made peanut brittle! This looks like a pretty easy recipe!

     
    • Melodie

      December 16, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      This has got to be the EASIEST recipe… should be called “Brittle for Dummies” haha 🙂 it came out BEAUTIFUL!

       
  5. Sugar -N- Spice Makes Everything Nice

    December 20, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I’m making it Friday!! Can’t wait! 🙂

     
    • Melodie

      December 23, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      how exciting! hope it turned out well!

       

Leave a Reply

 
