RSS

Tangy Apple Pie

12 Oct

With all the gorgeous colors and smells of fall, no autumn is complete without an apple pie. When I was growing up, in my backyard there were four apple trees. Two of the trees were gifts from my grandparents. I actually had my own “personal” tree. We had a golden delicious and also a red delicious. The two other trees I never knew what they were. We called one of them the “wild” apple tree.

All growing up, once September struck, we had apple everything. Apples for lunch, apples for snacks, apple crisp, apple muffins, apple pancakes… the list went on and on. Generally by the time we made it through apple season, I was so tired of apples. Now that I no longer live at home, I no longer go through “apple season”, so there are times that I crave old favorites like apple pie.

  • Dough for double crust 9-inch pie
  • Ā¾ c sugar
  • 1 tsp. all-purposed flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 or 5 very large Granny Smith apples or another tart apple, peeled and sliced
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp. butter, chopped into small pieces

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a 9-inch pie pan with half of dough. Combine sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a bowl. Stir in apples and lemon juice. Spoon apple mixture into pie pan and dot with butter. Bake for 10 minutes and then lower the temperature to 350 degrees F and bake for 55 to 60 minutes.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Tangy Apple Pie

  1. Christa Pelc

    October 15, 2011 at 3:22 am

    Oooooohh!!!!! Forget posting the recipe, just the PICTURE makes me salivate!!!!! But, yes, I will remember your recipe next time I make an apple pie šŸ™‚ The crust looks positively heavenly!! Your lucky husband. . . .

     
    • theflourbag

      October 16, 2011 at 12:00 pm

      haha! Thank you Christa! šŸ™‚ I have been trying to improve my photography skills! I appreciate your compliment!

       
  2. jacqueline

    October 20, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Did you make the crust from scratch? It looks so fluffy and flaky. I’d love to try a recipe that produces a pastry like that šŸ˜€

     
    • theflourbag

      October 21, 2011 at 5:12 am

      yes! I’ll try to put up the recipe for the dough. It’s a lovely dough that’s very versatile and with a few switches of ingredients you can do sweet or savory!

       

Leave a Reply

 
