RSS

Date Raisin Apricot Cookies

13 Jan

 

So on this night that I made three loaves of bread, I was feeling especially creative. I had recently bought some dates from the store and was itching to use them. I started looking up recipes, and flipping through food magazines and cook books to see what recipes I could find that included dates. I wasn’t really finding a lot of “simple” things, after all, I’d already baked 3 loaves of bread and it was nearing 10 o’clock at night. I knew that Tom would be home in about an hour. Finally fed up with what I was finding, I decided to come up with my own on-the-spot cookie. “How hard could it be?”, I thought. I’ve made cookies since I was a child, most cookie recipes have basically the same sort of base. So I started making my little “date” cookies, and then suddenly I thought to add raisins to it, and then what about apricots? And soon the spices and creativity were flowing through my blood, and Viola! One of the best cookies I’ve ever tasted! :) I often bring my cookies and treats to my work place, just to let people help me and Tom eat some of the goodies I make. Though I live in Chicagoland, there are still a lot of people who are reticent to new or “exotic” groupings of food. I even had a friend say “I would not normally try THAT combination…. but since you made it, I’m going to be open minded and give it a try” :) and to her delighted surprise, she loved them! :) I always have delight in “beating” people’s food dislikes. My husband has often gone on about different foods he didn’t like, and at about maybe a 98% success rate on my part, I’ve been able to convert him over on most of them. :) 

 

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 vegetable shortening
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tbsp black strap molasses
  • 2 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped, pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda

 

 

 

 

 

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a large bowl, mix together butter, shortening, and brown sugar. Mix until smooth and without lumps. Add molasses, vanilla and eggs. Beat by hand in bowl until sugars start to dissolve. Add dates, raisins and dried apricots. In a separate bowl, mix together cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, flour, and baking soda. Slowly add dry mixture to wet, mix well. Add rolled oats.

 

On a non-stick baking sheet, drop cookies, being sure to make them uniform size. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until just lightly browned on tips. Release from pan and cool on rack. Enjoy!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2012 in Cookie

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Date Raisin Apricot Cookies

  1. Melodie

    January 13, 2012 at 3:24 am

    that could work too! I’m not sure how I’d like it with the oats, but maybe you could substitute the oats for walnuts? :)

     
    • Melodie

      January 13, 2012 at 4:52 am

      that sounds about right :) I’ve never had walnuts and oatmeal… sounds interesting

       
  2. spring

    January 13, 2012 at 3:26 am

    I can imagine all the lovely textures and fragrances that are bursting forth in this cookie. ^^ NiCE!

     
    • Melodie

      January 13, 2012 at 4:52 am

      thank you!!! it’s LOVELY! :D

       
  3. catbird365

    January 13, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Molasses! Great idea with the apricots and such.

     
  4. Sarah

    January 14, 2012 at 12:56 am

    Dates are my most favorite thing ever, I think. I so want to make these cookies.

     
  5. mamacino

    January 14, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Melodie – I love your blog. The food and photos look amazing. So inspirational. Thanks for checking out mamacino x

     
  6. Janine

    January 16, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Those look delicious! Love all the pictures and detailed posts, keep it up! I hereby nominate you for the versatile blogger award! Check back at: http://thequietbaker.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/wow-thank-you/ for more details =]

     
  7. Crystal

    January 17, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    My mouth is watering!! Adding this to my PInterest immediately!

     
  8. Jill

    January 25, 2012 at 2:40 am

    Hi Melodie!
    When I saw you followed my blog, I decided to check out YOUR blog. I saw the Date Raisin Apricot Cookie recipe and have had some dates on my counter for about a month now – staring at me, waiting for me to use them. I thought your cookie recipe was the perfect way to use them up. They turned out great. Thanks for the recipe and for following my blog!

    Jill

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

